I spent a summer in college on the island of Spetses doing a Greek language program. One of my favorite people there was a Dutch girl named Eleni. I remember talking about waffles one day and she didn’t know the word in English. So I described them and her face lit up, “OH! VAFFLEEEEES!!!!” I practically fell off my chair laughing. Why don’t we call them vafflees? It’s an infinitely cooler word, for sure.

Here’s the staple vafflee recipe in my house. It’s based off of my mom’s pancake and waffle batter, but adjusted to be gluten-free delicious.

Gluten-Free Waffles

  • 2 1/8 c. gluten-free flour mix (I like equal parts sorghum, teff, tapioca, and sweet rice flours)
  • 4 T sugar (sometimes I sub maple syrup or honey here)
  • 4 tsp baking powder
  • 1/2 tsp xanthan gum
  • 1/2 tsp salt
  • 1/2 tsp cinnamon
  • 1/4 tsp freshly grated nutmeg (do you have a Microplane?! This is an essential kitchen gadget)
  • 1/8 tsp ground cloves
  • 1 3/4 cups milk of some sort (If you use another GF flour mix from the one I suggest below, you’ll have to adjust this amount of liquid to achieve the proper consistency)
  • 4 T melted butter
  • 2 large eggs
  • 1 tsp vanilla
  • chopped nuts and fresh fruit for topping

Combine dry ingredients in a large bowl and mix to evenly distribute flours, spices, etc. Add eggs, vanilla, butter, and half of the milk. Mix until smooth. Add the rest of the milk incrementally until the batter is thick but still pours. Grease up the ol’ waffle iron and make you some vafflees! Top with fruity, nutty goodness and whatever else floats your boat. Makes waffles for 2 extremely hungry people or 3 normal people (or 4 birds, 5 twigs, you get the idea).