Inspired by the uber-gluteny loaf I made my main squeeze the other day (using Jim Lahey’s No-Knead Bread Recipe made famous by Mark Bittman… it’s a stroke of genius, that recipe is, though I’ve never had the pleasure of actually sampling it…) I’ve opened up the quest for the ideal gluten-free rustic loaf once again. I’ve had decent results with Gluten-Free Girl’s artisan bread in the past, but I want sourdough.

So gluten-free sourdough starter is pretty straightforward. Start with a large glass jar and add 1/2 c. water and mix in a 1/2 c. gf flour (any combination of teff, sorghum, brown rice). Cover the jar with cheese cloth secured with a rubber band and leave in a humid, somewhat warmish place (our laundry closet fits the bill). Each day, add 1 part water to 1 part flour and watch as the natural yeasty-beasties in the environment find and colonize your floury gloop. After 3-5 days, your starter will rise between feedings and start to smell sour. Mine went through a funky spell where it smelled like feet, then olives, then sourdough. Don’t be deterred by the initial stink. It’ll mellow into sour goodness.

I won’t waste your time by sharing the first recipe I tried to make the bread. It was pretty pathetic. I still have the lead-loaf sitting half-eaten in my fridge. The flavor was worthy, but the density was abominable. Here you can see what it looked like next to the LeahyWonderLoaf. Back to the drawing board I go.

Lead-loaf left, Lahey WonderLoaf right

Lead-loaf left, Lahey WonderLoaf right

PS. For all you wheat-eaters out there, you MUST MUST MUST try the Lahey/Bitman No-Knead Bread recipe. It is nothing short of miraculous: