Not deterred by the lead-loaf of last week, I kept my starter alive by continuing to feed it 1 c. of water and 1 c. gluten-free flour (some combination of brown rice, teff and sorghum, depending on how I was feeling each day). This time I decided to be guided by Living Without’s recipe for gluten-free French Baguette, which is the tastiest gf bread I’ve come across to date. On a scale of 1 to successful, I’d say it’s successful. Definitely no lead-loaf. Next time I’ll bake it in a smaller dutch oven b/c mine is too big and the bread flattens as it bakes – kind of like a pancake for the BFG. But other than that, it’s lovely, light, luscious and sour. Yum.

Second Gluten-Free Sourdough Attempt... Less leaden but more vertically challenged...

Second Gluten-Free Sourdough Attempt... Less leaden but more vertically challenged...

Gluten-Free Sourdough, Take 2… Closer

  • 2 c. sourdough starter
  • 2 1/2 c. Living Without’s GF High Protein Flour Blend
  • 2 tsp. xanthan gum
  • 1 tsp. salt
  • 3 T sugar
  • 1 1/2 T active dry yeast
  • 1 T olive oil
  • 1 1/2 c. warm water
  • Special equipment: Dutch oven (4 Qt. size should work – mine is too big, and I think it’s a 6 Qt.)

Scoop sourdough starter into large bowl (apparently contact with metal inhibits the yeast, so make sure to use plastic measuring cups and a glass or plastic bowl.) In a separate bowl, mix together the high-protein flour, xanthan gum, salt, sugar, and yeast. Add to the sourdough starter. Add luke warm water and oil and beat with an electric mixer until smooth. Oil and flour your dutch oven and spoon the dough into a mound in the center. Cover and let rise for 30 minutes in a warm place.

Preheat oven to 400F. Place covered Dutch oven on the middle rack and bake for 30 minutes. Remove the lid and bake for another 5-10 minutes until the crust is a nice golden brown. Leftovers make for great focaccia sandwiches.

Next-time-notes: I may try less yeast next time and a longer rising time. I read in this fab gf baking book, Gluten-Free Baking Classics, that a shorter rise time leads to a loaf more likely to collapse. This is indeed what mine did b/c it had risen nicely when I put it in the oven but turned into the horizontal loaf above by the time I took it out. Wohn wohn. Oh well. Something to fiddle with next time.