My grandma was the first to teach me that you could actually *make* applesauce. It was one of those things, like doughnuts and yoghurt, that fell squarely in the Modern Food Marvels category — beyond the reach of the home cook. (Of course, I have since learned to make all three. Modern Food Marvels has now been relegated to the likes of Easy Cheese and Deep Fried Ice Cream.) But at the time, I thought, “Wow! What a revelation!” She put 2 cups of apples in with 2 cups of sugar, maybe some water, and boiled it down before finishing it off with… wait for it… aw, yeah…. an entire bag of Red Hots! Yeah, can you belieeeeff? The resulting sugary goo was spicy-red and artificial-delicious, but after I awoke from my sugar coma I think I heard my pancreas wimper.

The second time I learned to make applesauce was much more wholesome, and it’s the recipe I’m going to share with you now. It’s a variation on my mom’s recipe, actually, so thanks momma. Nice work. Yum-delish.

Homemade Applesauce

Homemade Applesauce

Mommayios’ Appley-Sauce

  • 10-12 apples of your choice
  • 4 cinnamon sticks
  • 6 whole cloves
  • 1/4 c. water

Quarter, core, and peel the apples. Chop coarsely for chunky applesauce, dice finely for smooth (or you can blend it afterwards. I’m waaaaaaaay too lazy for that). Place in a medium pot with the water and spices and simmer, covered until it has cooked down into what can only be described as applesauce. Viola! Easy as pie and much sweeter (in the awesome sense, not the sugary one.) No sugah needed. Word.