So many good lentil soup snippets… which one to share? Visual: One of the iconic pics from my childhood is me sitting with a bowl of lentil soup, spoon in the air and mouth agape as though I’m conducting my own ode to lentil soup… Auditory: My Greek grandmother couldn’t say “lentil” because Greek words just don’t end in l’s. So she said “lendin.” Lendin soup. Lendin soup. haha. Lendin… and finally, Sappy: I knew I’d found the man of my dreams when we sat down for a meal of homemade lentil soup and he got up to get the red wine vinegar. What? You do that too? I thought I was the only crackpot on the planet who won’t eat lentil soup without vinegar! Apparently not. And a long and fruitful relationship was born.

So lendin soup has a special place in my heart. It’s a comfort food, it’s gluten-free, it’s a one-dish wonder – it doesn’t get any better. Here’s the unofficial family recipe.

Lentil Soup

  • 8 cups veggie broth
  • 1 1/2 cups french lentils
  • 1 onion, diced
  • 2 carrots, diced
  • 3 celery stalks, diced
  • 3 garlic cloves, minced
  • 2 bay leaves
  • 2 T olive oil
  • freshly ground pepper
  • 1/4 tsp oregano
  • 1/4 c. chopped flat leaf parsley
  • 1/4 c. coarsely chopped spinach leaves
  • red wine vinegar

Directions: Choose the one dish for this wonder carefully. In a medium soup pot, saute your onions, garlic, carrots and celery in the olive oil until glassy. Add the lentils and stir with flair. Add the veggie broth and act like you’re really working hard while you wait for it to boil. Add the bay leaves, pepper, oregano and parsley. Turn down the heat, cover loosely, and simmer until the lentils are soft – 30ish minutes. Add the spinach and act totally spent from the effort. Simmer 10 more minutes and serve. Garnish with a 1/2 tsp of vinegar per bowl. Serves 4.