Salty snackers, rejoice! Rice and Corn Chex got rid of their nasties (barley malt) and are now officially gluten free! To celebrate, I whipped up a batch of chex mix which I will share with you now. Except that it’s already 3/4 eaten and you’re out there in cyberspace, not in my living room. So I’ll share how I modified the original recipe with you instead.

Gluten-Free Chex Mix

Gluten-Free Chex Mix

Gluten-Free Chex Mix

  • 4 1/2 c. gluten-free rice chex
  • 4 1/2 c. gluten-free corn chex
  • 2 c. peanuts
  • 2 c. Glutino gf pretzel sticks
  • 6 T butter
  • 2 T worcestershire sauce
  • 1/2 t. garlic powder
  • 1/2 t. salt

Directions: Mix the dry ingredients in the bathtub (or in two batches in a large bowl – my preferred method. HA!) Heat the butter, worchestershire, garlic powder and salt over the stove on low heat until the butter melts. Slowly pour over the dry stuff while tossing/stirring the chexies to coat. Divide between two rectangular pyrex dishes and place in a 250 °F oven for an hour. Stir every 15 minutes to make sure no burnage occurs. Woohoo, chex!