I almost peed my pants when I saw it on the grocery store shelf. Gluten-free hoisin sauce?! Could it be? The brand is Premier Japan and it has the added bonus of being biologique, or organic. But it also has the disappointing issue of tasting like a**. It’s orangey and barbequey and not remotely hoisiney. Dang, dang, dang. My hopes were so high.

I don’t know if you guys do this but I have a running list in my head of must-cook gluten-free foods. A snippet of late:

  • gf danishes
  • gf hoisin
  • gf sourdough
  • gf dumplings

Some of the more elaborate or involved items have been sitting quietly on this list for several years. Occasionally, one gets taken off in a triumphant squeal as I either successfully collect all the necessary ingredients, or I find or adapt a respectable recipe, or whatever. Premier Japan piqued my desire for gluten-free hoisin and I WILL create or find a recipe to fill the void. I must have mu shu vegetable again. Must must must.

Stay tuned… I think I’m close.

Update 3/3/10: checkit! I diddit!