Gluten-Free Noodle Omelet

Gluten-Free Noodle Omelet

I can’t remember exactly how or why it occurred to me that noodles would be good in an omelet, but it happened one night and I’ve never been the same since. HA! The drama.

Truth is, I often find myself with half a pot of leftover noodles, having gobbled up the sauce in an imprudent way. And although I appreciate the merits of a bowl of plain noodles as a vehicle for olive oil and cheese, cold rice noodles just don’t cut the mustard. So sauceless leftover noodles tend to languish in my fridge… that is, until the glorious advent of the noodle omelet. Noodle omelet! Sounds fun, doesn’t it? I feel funner just saying it.

Noodle Omelet

  • ~1.5 – 2 cups leftover Tinkyada brown rice pasta
  • 5 eggs
  • a pat of butter
  • 1 T olive oil
  • grated parmesan or romano cheese
  • salt & pepper

Heat up your pasta in a large non-stick pan with the butter and olive oil. In a medium bowl, crack the eggs and beat with 1/4 t. salt. When the pasta is warmed through, spread it evenly across the bottom of the pan and grate the cheese on top (as much or as little as you please). Grind some black pepper on top (be generous – it adds kick). Slowly pour the eggs over the noodles taking care not to dump them all in one spot. Cover and turn the heat to medium. Cook until the eggs are no longer runny (unless you’re a soupy omelet person) and the pasta has formed a crispy crunchy bottom. Oh lordie, take me now!