Curses! Just when you think you have the gluten-free diet down pat, some jerk food scientist sneaks up behind you and bites you in the ass. This time it was masquerading as the Easter Bunny. Insidious bastard.

Trader Joe's Jelly Beans have wheat!

Don't be fooled! Trader Joe's Jelly Beans have been kissed by the wheat-beast!

You wouldn’t think it, but the second ingredient in these Trader Joe’s jelly beans is “wheat syrup,” whatever that is. And I only found out after I’d eaten a handful. To add insult to injury, as much as I’d like to say it was my ever-vigilant self who discovered The Wheat-beast in the ingredient list, it was not. My husband absent-mindedly picked up the box and saw it. I thought they were safe. Boo.

Wheat syrup! What the!?

Wheat syrup! What the!?

See what I mean? This kerfuffle renews my distaste for Trader Joe’s. Not only have they betrayed me with their excessive packaging and their commitment to greenwashed foods, but now they’ve forced me to ingest The Beast in jelly bean form, on a holiday, no less. Boo, boo, and more boooooo.