You are currently browsing the category archive for the ‘Beverages’ category.

While I’m on the topic of gluten-free beer… I went into our local Whole Foods today to snag a six pack of Bard’s Gluten-free Beer, but they were out :{. A nice sales person saw my sadface and immediately brightened my day by saying that they always stock at least one of three gluten-free beers. New Grist rice and sorghum ale is one of them. Highly recommend. Niiiiiize!

Another good gluten-free beer: New Grist

I’m just beginning to explore the world of gluten-free beer. I was never a big beer person, but since discovering several gluten-free beer brands, I realized that maybe I never liked beer b/c it didn’t agree with me. Because I must admit, the last few brews I’ve had have awoken a bit of a beer monster in me. Saayyy, that tastes migh-tee-fine!

Matcha powder (image courtesy of FCartegnie thru Wikimedia Commons)

I was at the coffee shop last week and someone in front of me ordered a Green Tea Latte with no syrup. I was feeling sick of the black sludge I throw down daily, so I decided to give it a try. Hummennah-hummenah! Now that’s a-tasty, people! I ordered it without the syrup, fyi, and it was plenty sweet. Sounds like their base is matcha powder with a mildly sweet honeydew syrup. Interesting. Anywhoo, no need for the extra sugar they normally throw in. Deeelish.

Hard Apple Cider - Make sure it's Gluten-Free!

I’ve had a couple of rude awakenings lately about hidden sources of gluten in things that I assumed were gluten-free. My husband took a beer making class recently and when describing the process he noted that barley malt is a common ingredient in beer – apparently the high sugar content makes for a more alcoholic end product. Then a few weeks later, I was in the mood for hard apple cider and I just happened to pick up a bottle that said “Made without added malt.” What? It never occurred to me that they’d add malt to hard cider, but now that I think about it, it makes perfect sense if their goal was to up the alcohol content of the final product. Dangit. So add cider to the list of things to be careful about and always, always ask to see the label when ordering at a restaurant.

Look for "Gluten-Free" or the absence of "Malt" and "Barley Malt" in the Ingredients

Naked Juice's new labels let it all hang out...

It happened like this: a well-meaning relative stocked the fridge with Naked Juice’s Green Machine variety and talked all weekend about how glorious it was. She insisted I try it (ok, fine. I read Green Eggs and Ham. I’m down with green juice) and like a braindead fooh, I took a sip and THEN picked up the bottle to read the label. Fourth ingredient: wheat grass. Bastard wheat-beast!

Needless to say, this opened my eyes to a while new section of the drink fridge to watch out for. Thankfully, Naked Juice has redesigned their labels to indicate whether or not their flavors are gluten-free. Scha-weee!